27th Letter: Barefoot and Ragged (October 1, 1862)

In camp near Winchester Va

Oct 1st 62

Winchester_Virginia_Seal

Click image to learn about the history of Winchester, Virginia.

Dear Sir

I will write you a few lines, though I just wrote to Ma a few days since- + I rcd her letter of the 12wlt yesterday- This leaves me in good health- as also those of our company that are present-

I suppose ere this you have heard all of the particulars about our trip into Mary Land- I gave some account of it in my letter to Ma- so I will say nothing of it now- I think our Gens accomplished their purpose -vis – the 11000 Yankees at Harper’s Ferry –

Click image to read

Click image to learn about Shephardstown during the Civil War.

Since I last wrote I have heard that Rufe Shaw + Rese Houston were left at or near Shepardstown- and I would not be at all surprised if the Yankees got them- though one of our company – John Brown was left with them- I thought all the time that they were carried off with the rest of our boys, but they were not able to be moved at the time – I think if Rufe gets the proper attention he will get well-

October 1, 1862: page 1

October 1, 1862: page 1

We had a mint of men wounded in that fight, but never lost 1/3 as many killed as the Yankees- That was certainly one of the hardest contested battles that has ever been fought in this part of the army- I think we got the best of it- They were driven back on the left and we held our ground on the Right-

We have now about 200 men in the Regt and nearly 1/3 of them bare footed and all pretty ragged + I among the number.

October 1, 1862: pages 2 and 3

October 1, 1862: pages 2 and 3

We are in camp about 5 miles from Winchester, living on beef and bread, have not drawn any bacon in two weeks- We have now about 200 men in the Regt and nearly 1/3 of them bare footed and all pretty ragged + I among the number- I reckon we will draw shoes soon- I got a tolerably good pair of pants from Tubby that will do me untill I get those from home- You must write soon and give me all the news about that western army you can- for Ma and Mary never does in their letters – Wishing to hear from you soon I remain your devoted son PM Buford

P.S. Since writing I have heard that Rufe is in Winchester which I hope is so- he will receive proper attention there-


Blogger’s Notes:

  • Parham writes of his cousin, Rufus (Rufe) A. Shaw, and Rees (Rese) A. Houston again.  In the previous posted letter, it is explained that both were severely wounded at the Battle of Sharpsburg.
  • A History of Company G, Eleventh Mississippi Regiment, C.S.A. documents information about another comrade, John F. Brown, mentioned by Parham as staying behind at or near Shepardstown with Rufus Shaw and Rees Houston.  No mention is made in the before mentioned reference about John being present at Sharpsburg; it does indicate he was present two days at Second Manassas which occurred just prior to crossing into Maryland.  John was wounded and captured at Falling Waters, when after an exchange and furlough he was present again at Weldon Railroad two days, Dobbs Ferry, Davis Farm, Jones Farm, Hatcher’s Run, and Hawkes Farm, March 25, 1865.
  • Tubby” is Parham’s cousin, Goodloe Warren Buford, Jr.

 

Leave a Reply

