14th Letter: Delirium Tremens (December 30, 1861)

Camp Fisher

Dec 30th 1861

Dear Sister

I rcd your welcome letter a few days since which afforded me great pleasure.

Photo Source of George W. Hope:

Photo Source of George W. Hope: “Lamar Rifles: A History of Company G, Eleventh Mississippi Regiment, C.S.A.”

I have a chance of sending this to you by George Hope who is discharged, though I do not fell much like writing to night as I have been hard at work all day and fell very much fatigued, not knowing untill a few minutes ago that he was going to start so soon.

This leaves all in very good health except Newt and. Myself who have a very bad colds. One of our Regt died last week with the Mania Portu, the one death that we have had in the Regt for over a month.

December 30, 1861: page 1

December 30, 1861: page 1

It was thought for for two or three days since, that we would have a fight here but it has died out as usual and I do not beleive we will have one untill I am in it, though there is not a passes but you can hear the roar of cannon on the River, but I have never seen yet what good it has done, though I may not be the proper judge.

We have just finished repairing our house. It was a flat roof, and inferior boards. Last week it rained quite hard- and it was all he we could do to keep ourselves and chattels dry. We pitched in and made more boards and put a very respectable roof. The whole Regt is very comfortably quartered now, and I think we will stay here untill Spring.

December 30, 1861: page 2

December 30, 1861: pages 2 and 3

I suppose you have heard some talk of the 60 day furloughs Some of our company will take it, and a great many will not, and I think I will be among that number. I will serve my time out and I if I fell like reenlisting then I can do so.

I drew 50$ the other day and I will let send you 5$ for Pocket change.

I want you to send me a strip of Sand Paper in your next letter to I want it to polish some rings, none can be had here,

The drum is now beating for “lights out” and I must close. Give my love to all and tell the old folds folks that I will write to them soon.

You must burn this as soon as you read it and then answer. Yrs truly

PMBu


Blogger’s Notes:

  • It appears George W. Hope hand-carried this letter to Parham’s family.  George W. Hope enlisted April 26, 1861. Born in Mississippi, a student, single and 20 years old. According to Lamar Rifles: A History of Company G, Eleventh Mississippi Regiment, C.S.A., he was discharged…by reason of accidental wound through left wrist. [After recovery he reenlisted in the 30th Mississippi and did gallant service for his country in that command.  Was killed at battle of Murfreesboro, Tenn.].
  • Parham writes one of our Regt died last week with the Mania Portu.  He is referring to mania-a-portu, also known as delirium tremens.

One comment on “14th Letter: Delirium Tremens (December 30, 1861)

  1. […] W. Hope, who hand-carried a previous letter to Parham’s family, enlisted April 26, 1861. Born in Mississippi, a student, single and 20 years […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

