6th Letter: The Missing Overcoat (October 12, 1861)

Damfries Va

Oct 12th 1861

Dear Mother.

October 12, 1861: page 1 right

October 12, 1861: page 1 right

I have written two letters home since I heard from any of you, and now as I have an opportunity I will write you a few lines.

I have been in camps two weeks and have enjoyed good health so far, though I had a severe rising on my lip which troubled me two or three days. The mumps have been in our company for 3 weeks, but as yet I have escaped them. There is not much sickness in our Brigade at this time.

I suppose you rcd my letter speaking of the march we made. Scince that time we were called out again, expecting to meet the enemy, and again disappointed. We went about 3 miles, then returned to camp, and now we are expecting marching orders daily, keeping three days rations cooked ahead.

We are about 5 miles from the Potomac. I saw the river to day. I went 1/2 miles from camp, and saw it by climbing a tree.

I can not write much now, as I did not know that Dark was going to start so soon.

Click image of overcoat to view source.

You must tell the Old Man that I think I have lost the Over Coat clean. I was not in camp when it came. One of our boys put it in a box and when it came to the camp it- the coat was gone. I never saw it all. I was was away when it came to the other camp, and also this. I wrote before for one blanket, and I don’t believe we will draw any, and if you can get another I would like to have it. I suppose you got the other list.

October 12, 1861: page 2 on left, page 3 on right

October 12, 1861: page 2 on left, page 3 on right

I rcd letters from Claudia Rodgers and Aunt Polly. They are all well except Ab Rodgers child was dead, the deaf and dump one.

I must close for the present, as it is night and the boys keep up such a fuss that I cant write. I would like to get letters from you all at any time. Give my best respects to the family and inquiring friends. Write soon.

Yrs respt. P M Buford

2 comments on “6th Letter: The Missing Overcoat (October 12, 1861)

  1. Skip Solomon says:

    Too bad he didn’t receive the coat. It is interesting he was that close to the Potomac. Skip Solomon

  2. wayneandjen says:

    This coat is mentioned many times in future letters. I won’t tell you what eventually happens….to be continued.

Leave a Reply

