5th Letter: Antibilious Pills, Hucksters, and Whiskey (October 9, 1861)

Camp Fisher Oct 9th 1861

Mr S Luckie

Dear Sir.

October 9, 1861: page 1

October 9, 1861: page 1

As I have an opportunity of sending a letter by Mr. Wilkins. I thought I would take advantage of it and send you a few lines.

It has been at least three weeks since I rcd a letter from any of you. I can not see why it is that I do not get your letters for I am fool enough to believe that you all write oftener than that. Mr. Paine is the only that rcs letters from the Hill with any thing like Regularity.

Click image to view source.

As usual I have nothing of interest to write. I was quite sick two days last week with cold and fever. I took a dose of Antibilious pills which set me all right. I am now in fine health and doing fine in all respects with the exception of our eatables- which are few and far between, though we get things from Huxsters sometimes- which helps out considerably- but we have have to pay double price for almost everything we get.

Our Regt went down to the batteries one evening last week and lay on the ground all night + went back next morning. + and I think it probable we will have to go back in a few days.

Click image to listen to "Think of Your Head in the Morning."

Click image to listen to “Think of Your Head in the Morning.”

Gen Whiting gave orders that if any civilian was caught selling whiskey in this Brigade to tie him up and give him 39 lashes with a Waggon whip well laid on. I know it is not generally the case to run down a company or Regt in ones own Brigade- But there is one Reg in ours that bears off the palm vis- the 1st Tennessee. I have no doubt but they will do good fighting- but they are a rough set certain. Some of the them to my certain knowledge has sold whiskey in this Reg for 11$ per quart. and I think they ought to have about 40.

October 9, 1861: page 2

October 9, 1861: page 2

I would like to know when I will get my clothes. You must be certain to send a blanket or two if you can get them. and I don’t reckon a pr good brown pants would go amiss- for one pair that I started with are literally no account. the pr like my coat. My overcoat is the very thing for cold and rainy weather.

Give my best respects to all the family. Tell Ma I will write to her next and Mary Jane to answer my letter as soon as possible. Write soon yours.

Respt

P M Buford

P.S. About two hours after sealing this I rcd Ma’s letter. Tell her I will answer it as soon as I can conveniently. P.M.B


Blogger’s Notes:

  1. It appears Mr. Wilkins hand-carried this letter to Parham’s family.  Who is Mr. Wilkins?  Parham serves in the “Lamar Rifles” with Newton B. Wilkins, occasionally referring to him in letters as Newt.  Mr. Wilkins was possibly Newt himself who, according to Lamar Rifles: A History of Company G, Eleventh Mississippi Regiment, C.S.A., enlisted at age twenty-three while single and a clerk at Oxford, Mississippi; was severely wounded on the last day of Gettysburg; and died in Richmond in August of 1863 from effects of wound in right shoulder.
  2. Newt should not be confused with Walter Buford’s father, whom Parham calls Uncle Newton or Uncle Newt.
  3. Parham indicated Mr. Paine is the only that rcs letters from the Hill with any thing like Regularity.  Mr. Paine was possibly David B. Paine who, according to the before mentioned referenceenlisted at age twenty-one while single and a student at College Hill, Mississippi; was mortally wounded at Battle of Gaines’s Mill; and died at a field hospital on June 27, 1862.
Leave a Reply

