1st Letter: Journey to Virginia (August 17, 1861)

Aug19-61side1.doc copy

August 17, 1861: page 1

August 17th 1861.

Dear Mother –

I hope you will excuse me for not writing sooner.  We never got a tent until yesterday and we have been mixed up. so much that I could not well write-  I took cold two days after my lett arrival but am free of it now.  

Click image to view another primary source mentioning ladies greeting soldiers at train stations.

I will start at the first and give you particulars.  At Corinth Charles Gaston joined us– Nothing of interest occurred on the road- except the presents received from the ladies who greeted us at every station- untill we came to Lynchburg- when about 5 miles from there- when the boiler bursted and part of the tender ran off the track.  No one hurt-  We staid there about 3 hours waiting for an Engine-  About 30 miles from our stopping place we meet with Tom Buford and Morris Weeb who had been out in the country rusticating.  

We are encamped about 4 miles from Mannas south West. there is not much sickness in this company at present- Joe Buford is complaining- a negro belonging to this company died two days ago of pneumonia.  there is a great deal of sickness in Meets Regiment.  measles generally- several have died since our arrival- though at present they are not in our regiment- I have meet with several of my old acquaintances in the different Regiments around- all of whom seemed glad to meet us-

We live on wheat bread- fat meat. coffee. and rice and beef occasionally Vegetables are as scarce as hens teeth.  

Our Company was put on Brigade guard yesterday- Each man has to stand 8 hours out of 24. and relieved and two at a time.  I stood 4 hours during the day and 4 at night.  During the night an officer came round to try the sentinels.  he took guns away from three of our number of raw recruits who I will not mention as they have been plagued teased enough already. The old goat tried to get mine but I had heard of those tricks before I came here.  I was about a mile from the encampment in the woods.  I halted one feller and made him stand there about an hour waiting for the corporal of the Guard.  

August 17, 1861: page 2

August 17, 1861: page 2

The old is now sounding for drill and I must close giving more particulars next time.  Give my best respects to all the family + inquiring friends.  you can let any of the family read this-  I want all of you to write and give the news. Yrs truly

PM Buford.

P.S.  Address. 11th Reg. Miss. Vols. company

G Mannass Junction – care of Capt Greene.

